Pattern Review – Vicky Chan Designs: Jordan

When I’m looking to start a new project, I always set out a wish list. For this project I wanted:-

  • To make something wearable for me
  • To be challenged
  • Include some form of open lace work/stitches
  • A pattern from a designer I have never tried before

Ravelry is one of my “Tried & True” sites for ideas and inspiration. I searched and searched, finally finding this pattern – Vicky Chan Designs: Jordan

I was initially drawn in by these photos. I had visions of wearing it to a summer family bbq. Being asked where I brought it and relishing in admitting I made it!

The pattern blurb stated that the top has an asymmetic hemline, is seamless and made in one piece – “Oh ok, I’m listening!”

I was surprised to see that the pattern covered a range of sizes from XS to 3XL. I was fully sold when I saw that the pattern is aimed at Advanced Intermediate Crocheter! All of my boxes had been ticked off! The crochet fairies swiftly directed my mouse to the buy button!

The pattern cost about £5.32 and is instantly available for download after payment through Paypal. As well as the main pattern, you are also able to download supplementary photo tutorials (size specific) as additional guidance. This was really good to see and be able to refer to if I got stuck. I printed out the full pattern and the photo tutorial for my size. Printing is my personal preference – I hate losing where I am with a pattern (sorry, self-confessed control freak!).

The pattern recommended using sport weight cotton/linen blend. I used Woman Institute Soft & Silky Yarn in Slate 100g from HobbyCraft. At the moment, the whole WI range is 3 for 2!!! The pattern indicated that I would need 7 x 50g balls to complete L/XL. I purchased 6 100g skeins for £12.00!!!

Crochet Hooks – 3.75mm (US Size F) and 4mm (US Size G) required. Not a problem, already have way too many at home!

Stitch markers are recommended. I personally prefer using a safety-pin! I have lost count how many plastic stitch markers I have snapped over the years….

The Abbreviations List is clear and concise. Stitch Symbols are also provided – Good visual reminder if you are rusty, still learning or new to reading/following chart patterns. Do not worry, the pattern can be followed by the charts or by the comprehensive written instructions (not forgetting the photo tutorials).

Clear stitch explanations and all definitions are in American. I learnt how to crochet using American definitions and find them much better than the UK version.

Each round is easy to follow and the colour coded parentheses clear indicate the number of stitches needed per size. It took about 2 weeks on and off to finish. I absolutely loved making this top. Really pleased with my choice of yarn; lightweight, flowing and easy to wash. I have worn it on several occasions and every time I have been complemented. I am now spurred on to make more items for myself.

I have been looking at other patterns from Vicky Chan Designs to appease my craving. There are 4 front runners:- Arianna, ArianneJamie & Ada. Perhaps, I should get all four and splurge on some beautiful yarn?

To finish, I wanted to say that I absolutely love this designer and her beautiful patterns. Safe to say, I will be making more and keeping a close watch on new patterns being released.

Check them out for yourselves:

Vicky Chan Designs – Ravelry Pattern Store

Vicky Chan Designs – Ravelry Designer Page

Vicky Chan Designs – Website/Blog

Thanks for stopping by.

Annie xx

***UPDATE***

vcd-made

Here is my finished top using the yarn mentioned above. I am so so pleased with how it turned out.

Annie x

Leave a Reply

