Hook, Line & Sinker – Rolling Waves Slouchy Hat

I stumbled across this slouchy hat pattern pretty soon after it was released (December 2016). I loved the stitch effect and thought it would be a great addition to my ever increasing crochet hat collection! I had not made any items created by this designer before and thought I would give it a go!

Hook, Line & Sinker – Crochet Creations by Rachel

Rolling Waves Slouch Pattern

hls-hat

I also liked that the designer clearly highlighted that the pattern had not been tested. I love patterns like this! It is fresh, modern and from an up and coming designer! There are lots of designers out there and I feel that they need to get more exposure….

I also had the perfect yarn for the job. I recently brought a lovely charcoal coloured yarn from Stylecraft. I am blessed that there are several charity shops near me and they stock brand new wool/yarn!!! Good quality yarn from established suppliers at bargain prices. Don’t get me wrong, this girl loves an expensive yarn but I also love a bargain (who doesn’t, right?)

 

charcoal-dk
Yarn I used for this pattern

I started making the hat as per the pattern but found that the stitches were too dense for the look I was going for. I took the pattern and made a couple of small alternations. Firstly, I replaced all slipstitches with single crochet. I also changed the half double crochet to double crochet (US terms). The effect is slightly more subdued than the above. Saying that, I loved the more subtle look. I also liked that the stitch work was now looser. I also have to say that this is at not fault of the designers. I personally do not like using slip stitches as a main stitch in a pattern. No idea why, just don’t like it. I try and stick to only using slip stitches to finish off rounds etc. Winters in the UK are pretty cold and a good decent hat is definately required. I prefer less dense hats as I use them more of a fashion accessory as opposed to a warmth requirement!

It took about 4 hours to complete the hat to fit my sized head! To finish, I simply stitched up the main seam and then using a running stitch pulled the top together. I was also surprised that the hat is reversible! Depending on your mood, you can have the waves effect or the reverse which reminds me of honeycombe!

I have since made this hat again but for my hubby. He has a thing for military green coloured yarn. Luckily, I managed to pick up a boat load during the after Christmas sale at Hobbycraft! I used the same stitch alterations but this time it took me longer as he has a much bigger head and wanted a more slouchier (Is that even a word!) version! Hubby was really pleased with his hat and he had worn it on several ocassions – much to my delight!!!

To finish, I would like to say well done to Rachel. This is a beautiful design and the stich effect is amazing. Can’t wait to see what you are going to be releasing next.

Annie xx

***UPDATE***

Here are some really bad photos of my finished items!

ripple-hat-1
Hat made from the yarn mentioned above.

This is the hat which I made for myself. Hubby kept on stealing it until I made a larger one for him.

ribbed-hat-2
Much larger sized hat!

Hubby was over the moon to have one made for him and in his fave colour! The ripple effect is more subtle but still really pretty.

2 thoughts on “Hook, Line & Sinker – Rolling Waves Slouchy Hat

Leave a Reply

